Today was quiet.
It didn't have to be. I could have turned on the news or hopped on social media and "kept up" with the coverage. The digital declutter forced me to avoid the fast lane of life and appreciate the slower cycle of life.
It was especially quiet as all of my other family members were out of the house.
  • My wife was with her parents for a family event.
  • My son is at camp.
  • My daughter was busy either at work or with friends.
If one is not used to it, solitude can be eerie.
Cal Newport devotes a whole chapter to solitude, "Spend Time Alone". He observes that people resist being alone, especially in this age of constant connectivity, due to the "rise of cell phone as vital appendage". Many of us have become used to always being surrounded by others, even if only through online avatars. When we remove their digital presence, anxiety and fear can creep in.
As Newport notes:
"Young people...worry that even temporary disconnection might lead them to miss out on something better they could be doing. Parents worry that their kids won't be able to reach them in an emergency. Travelers need directions and recommendations for places to eat. Workers fear the idea of being both needed and unreachable. An everyone secretly fears being bored" (p. 113, my emphasis).
So, it's not just social media or email or newsletters: it's the delivery system that also cultivates "solitude deprivation".
One advantage I have had coming into this declutter experiment is a regular habit of keeping a diary/journal. I use Ryder Carroll's method for noting my daily activities, how I feel about situations, and reflecting on events.
In fact, I've missed few days of documenting at least something in my journal.
For example, three days after my small stroke last year, I noted that I followed up on a work project (really??) and how I was feeling about engaging in the work without the support of stimulants for my ADHD.
Was this a necessary project to complete, or did I not know what to do with myself without the work to occupy my mind?
Writing in this space, I am taking the time to reflect on my past actions. This can inform future thinking and intentions.
Right now, I am affirmed with my decision to engage in a digital declutter, to cultivate a richer life beyond online spaces.