If I were to make a prediction regarding social media, I think the future lies in paid communities.
Facebook and Twitter and LinkedIn...they get too big, and it becomes almost impossible to moderate. Combine this with the collective power of smaller groups to make real changes on specific areas of focus, and you can see the possibilities.
For example, I belong to an online community that supports bullet journaling for productivity and presence. They use Mighty Networks to facilitate this network of notebook enthusiasts. The community manager, Jessica, does a great job of hosting events, facilitating book studies, and posing questions for discussion.

I am also a member of a coaching community focused on supporting people to build better budgeting habits. They use Circle, a similar technology to Mighty Networks. I attended an office hours session today, discussing best tools for marketing and conversions of clients.
Both communities are successful. They charge a reasonable free for a truer sense of belonging than Twitter or LinkedIn provide. There's much less performative behaviors and more authentic sharing. And it's not the tools as much as it is the individuals who manage these spaces. They are gracious hosts who provide clear guidelines for engagement and discourse. They are also paid for their time. (Jessica is full time.)
I can attest a little bit to the work that goes into managing these online social spaces. My agency has a Mighty Network space that I help run. I don't do nearly the amount of work necessary to engage educators in productive ways (it's a goal I have for the coming school year). Time, intention, and a community-first mindset are necessary resources for success.
These huge social media companies aren't investing in building communities like the two I belong to, despite what their mission statement might proclaim. They want to make money. They get it from advertising. Advertising is dependent on eyes to see it and click on their links.
Unless this model changes at the macro level, I say the small financial investment in belonging to a niche social network is money well spent.