I emailed my parents that, by the time we all arrived in Virginia for vacation (coming from Wisconsin), that Biden could be out. I included an insightful column from The New York Times to support this prediction.
I heard about Biden dropping out from my two teenage kids in the backseat, both on their smartphones while I drove. For the next five minutes, I antagonized my family to check social media for additional details (we eventually learned that Biden endorsed Harris).
Once we arrived at a stopping point (Hopewell Earthworks in Chillicothe, Ohio; see image), I admit that I bent my digital declutter a bit by checking my "Reliable Media Sources" list on Twitter.
There were a few more nuanced insights, but nothing there that altered my understanding of events.
Once the dust settled, both on our long journey from Wisconsin to Virginia and on this unprecedented political event, I ventured out for groceries. Checking out, I purchased a paper copy of The New York Times.
Unhappy with their previous coverage around Biden's age, I had unsub­scribed to their digital platform. But reading their insights on Monday, with a 24-hour news cycle done, I found the reporting less emo­tional, deeper, and more measured.
In other words, I felt informed.