Today's Virginia adventure took us to Historic Jamestown. This was my #1 site to visit during vacation.
I have a passport guide. It is a collector's stamp book to organize cancellations (dated stamps) and stickers for each national park site you visit. My kids lovingly call it my "sticker book".
There is also an app to collect the stamps. But as you might guess, it's not the same. There's a tangible, real quality to the physical nature of collecting artifacts of my visits to parks.
As we roamed around the site looking at the restored buildings and grounds of the first American colony, I noticed the rebuilt church in Jamestown. It is the site of the first formal conversation about democracy.
The General Assembly within the colony met on a couple of benches on July 30, 1619.
This small body of representatives (all white men, of course) engaged in discussion about creating laws to how best govern their tiny government.
This type of intentional, deep discourse is not the outcome of our weak ties created through social media. That was never the intention.
So why do we spend so much time there?