It's the first day back and I am going through our photos from the trip.
To be more present, I only brought my flip phone with me when I didn't a smartphone. I wasn't able to take a lot of pictures with what my family members so affectionately to as my '"Jitterbug" (it's not; it's an Iris, but any­way).
I did feel a sense of loss, of missing out on all the moments I didn't capture on our trip.
But did I miss them? I was there. I remember what resonated with me, emotionally and re­lationally.
Our desire to capture and share our experiences is warranted. Images and video organized and shared can bring joy when revisited after the experience occurred. But there is a cost. The process - of taking the picture, of sharing it with others, of going back online to see what type of engagement was created, of finding ourselves immersed in that space and forgetting how we ended up there in the first place - is not the experience.
I did find one image I appreciated. It was from a physical timeline as one walked along toward Historic Jamestown.
What we put out there, what we extend into the world, has influences on ourselves and others.