Yesterday I talked about having to use technology that I had put a fence around as part of this digital declutter. I created an obstacle for accessing Linkedin and Twitter by removing the apps from the phone. I made it difficult to use the technology.
This goes both ways. We can create systems within our environments to invite more success, more effective actions in our lives. Technology can play an important role.
Sometimes it is simply a matter of positioning. Working in the back­yard, I moved a hose from one side of the deck to the other to make it closer to the pumpkin plants.
I am now more apt to water the plants. Is there a situation in which I could still use social media and still maintain a level of focus that I desire? Is there a better positioning of these digital tools to water my creative gardens?
Others have explored this question. For example, an app called Buffer allows you to write posts for social media and send them out. The title of the app is the function; you get space between your creativity and the sites where it is shared.
But what use is social media if I can't be social? Is it just a site for Commerce and status updates? If this, then what is its utility?
And that's the question. How does a tool serve me, progressing toward goals? These are more than a hammer, a saw. There are attachments in the relationships forged with connections, with networks.
Maybe there are new ways of seeing this challenge. For examples can I take the time to organize my closest contacts on Twitter in my contacts? whatever the approach, it's important that I operate with agency.